Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Hand Expressing & Storing EBM.

Sorry, can't help you with that one.

Quick question here. I have just started expressing and I am using the Avent sterilised bags, but I am having a hard time working out how much I have expressed. Do I leave them in the holder for the reading or flatten the bag out of a little? There isn't a huge difference in the readings, but I am a little confused.

hmmm I dunno! lol I would think when its in the holder would be more accurate.

This is a fairly basic question but I just wanted to make sure it was OK to store EBM in the freezer in the bottle that I expressed into. It has a screw lid with one of those little plastic covers on it. I have also put the bottle into a zip lock bag.

This is my first time freezing EBM so when I go to use it how far in advance should I take it out of the freezer - basically I have no idea how to thaw it!

TIA
    Jem

Yes its fine to use the bottle you expressed into. Just remember where it is incase you need it later on though LOL.
    when you thaw it, it will depend on how fast you want to use it. Its best to put it in the fridge overnight & let it thaw that way but you can also use warm (not hot) tap water & run that over the bottle while rotating it to thaw it out to be used straight away.

eta - Previously frozen & thawed in refrigerator (leaving it in the fridge to thaw over night) but not warmed can be kept at room temperature 4 hours or less (ie the next feeding). Can be kept in the fridge for up to 24 hours. Do not refreeze.

Thawed outside refrigerator in warm water can be kept for completion of feeding. If thawed in warm water but NOT given to baby straight way can be kept in the fridge for up to 4 hours or until next feeding. Do not refreeze.

Once your baby has begun feed, breastmilk should then only be kept for completion of feeding, then discarded.

Thanks heaps FJ. You are a wealth of knowledge !!