Thread: Luteal Phase Length

Default Luteal Phase Length

I thought that the luteal phase needed to be 14 days no matter how long the cycle. But ff gave me an O day (with dotted lines) and it was only 9 days til my af arrived.

Does that sound right???
    Doesnt it make the possibility of implantation harder with a LP that short???
    Im still new to this, any help would be greatly appreciated.

i think your LPhase has to be at least 10 + days longer for implantation to take place- it is not possible otherwise if your Luteral Phase is not long enough
    a bit out of touch with charting, but pretty sure this is correct
    HTH
    odette

Thanks Odette, Im hoping FF is wrong and I was sure it was 14 days, but only time will tell I guess.

Luteal phase length is individual (like cycle length) but generally is from 12-16 days, though can be longer or shorter but I think that means there may be a problem with progesterone, and can inhibit implantation. Also, you can't pinpoint ovulation to 14 days before AF came, because it depends on your hormones, not counting the days.

It just makes charting so much more confusing doesn't it!

sure does leasha. I have just been playing around with overide and overlay and there is definately a pattern to what is happening. so if i get af tomorrow that will clear some things up for me. but its just so confusing. i will be temping vaginally next cycle and then if there is still no definate sign of ov or my lp is looking too short i will go to the doc. i cant afford to wait and chart for too long. i am already 34.....tick tock!!!

if you compare the two charts from day 55 on the long one and day 14 on the short one there is a pattern (well... at least i think there is)Im not saying they are my O days but it seems like they start to look the same from there....
    Last edited by myson; April 4th, 2008 at 01:08 PM.

I am interested in this discussion. May I join in?