Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Donor Sperm

aimswervy Guest

Question Donor Sperm

First of all, just want to say a big HI to everyone, i'm a newbie here
    First time TTC and for various reasons i've found myself here and in need of some sperm, and was just wondering about any other ladies experiences regarding donor sperm. I can find very little information online, and was just wondering how I would begin to go about it, and some idea on the overall cost?

Hi Aimswervy,

First of all - welcome. Please come and join us on the Donor Conception general chatter.

Second of all, your question about sperm. I suppose it depends on what your situation is.

Are you doing this on your own?

If you are in a relationship, how does she/he feel about using donor sperm?

Is there anyone related to the two of you (in the partnership), or even a close friend (if you are single or in a partnership), that would be willing to donate?

Do you wish the donation to be anonymous, knowing that in some states there is a shortage of donors?

Do you want to involve an IVF clinic? Personally I would recommend this option as they know their stuff in terms of medical matters as well as counselling that is needed.

Do you want to import sperm from overseas? (this is an area I know little about, but others on this site can tell you about this option).

Do you want your/his/her family to know?

Do you want the child to know in the future how they were created? Again there is a lot of research on the benefits of telling the child.

Do you want the donor to be contactable, either when the child turns 18 (which is the recommended minimum) or throughout the child's life?

Do you have any medical conditions which will give a preference to the method that you will use to conceive a child eg IUI, IVF, IVF using ISCI or even egg donation.

Do you have health insurance?

Asking these questions gives a clearer idea of how much this will cost, as well as the emotional impact this decision will have.