Thread: Sperm donor process in Qld

jomar Guest

Smile Sperm donor process in Qld

Hi there.

This is my first post on here. I'm just starting out on the whole sperm donor process and am trying to find the best option available to me. I'm a single female living on the Sunshine Coast and I know 2 local people who have been through it, both at different clinics. One was just last year and she did it locally through Coastal IVF. For her it was a long process with multiple counselling sessions, a laparoscopy, with costs totally approximately $4000 (she got pregnant on the second try). The other was about 5 years ago through QLD Fertility Group in Brisbane (with Dr Gordan Kilvert who I've heard other people mention). Hers involved a one off fee of $475 with only $50 per cycle (I'm sure these prices have gone up considerably) and no invasive procedures.

I would love to hear from other people in Brisbane or on the Sunshine Coast who have gone through this as it's all so confusing and I don't know what is really involved.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Welcome Jomar!
    Unfortunately I cannot offer any advice or assistance as we are going to use a known donor.
    Good luck with TTC.

qfg prices have gone up though they seemed quite reasonable there a few doctors in the clinic some have huge waiting lists others are easy to get into. we looked into the clinics etc incase our known donor didnt work out. we didnt end up using the clinic as we fell pregnant home insemination. qfg were quite helpful when i called them there is a woman called jai if you call and ask to speak to her she will put you onto the right people and then the clinic will send you out profiles of donors, the donors are all from america as there is a shortage of local donors. hope this helps good luck

Hi