Page 2 of 12 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Gestational Diabetes General Chatter #1

JJ Guest

Default Gestational Diabetes

Hi there people! I am new to Belly Belly. I had GD with my third pregnancy but not with my first two. I also have IGT (impaired glucose tolerence) or pre-diabetes as it is known to some people. Both of my paternal grand-parents have diabetes (insulin controlled) as well as my father. Our youngest darling is 10 months old, and when I had the test with her my blood sugars went up and I had a lot of trouble getting them back down again. On top of that my waters broke at 31 weeks and I ended up in Melbourne where they put me on insulin 3 times a day. I found it very hard to control my diet with the food that was on offer. We are now 9.5 weeks along with number 4 and I am very concerned about having the test and my blood sugars going up and staying there! Does anyone have any suggestions that may help?

Hi JJ,
    God I'd give my left arm if i could help. All i can do is empathise. i'm ttc no 3. Had gd with both previous and had my babies at 34 weeks because of a liver condition that i have and also the size of my babies. I am also very worried about having the glucose tolerance test/challenge test. as i was very unwell when i had to drink the stuff last time. I had a friend with me , but fainted. I'm terrified i'll do a repeat performance . Because its a real out of body thing. you just feel like you totally have no control.i'm wondering if you can remember how far along you are when they make you do it?I was thinking about 18/20 weeks?I guess if i can be of any help at all, it would be to say distract yourself,about worrying about it because they say stess ups your blood sugars. I know easier said then done;but maybe find something you love doing and do lots of it..

Pauline

JJ Guest

Default Gestational diabetes

Hi pollyanna,