Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Any uni student/mothers out there?????

tash Guest

Default Any uni student/mothers out there?????

im about to begin studing full time for the next 4 years and would like to know how other mothers juggle there children,partners,study?????

Tash, Ambah has just finished her Uni year, I'm sure she'd love to pop in to give you some advice.

Hi Tash!
    I have just finished my first year at uni (I am doing a bachelor of Nursing). I started part time (2 subjects), then took on a 3rd subject in 2nd semester.
    Next year I am going up to the normal load of 4 subjects.
    This year I have had to have Aidyn in daycare for 2 days per week, and next year I will have to have him in for 3 days (purely because I cannot condense the timetable to fit into 2 days).
    TBH I have found it pretty stressful this year, and always get pretty snappy around exam time (poor DP) plus the housework takes a huge dive whenever I have an assignment due or study to do.
    I make it a rule that I never do any study during the hours when Aidyn is awake, as theres really just no point trying, plus I dont want it to interfere with the quality time he needs with me. So I usually never start any work until after 8pm at night, unless of course Aidyn is in daycare and I am at uni that day.
    Surprisingly although I have found it to be hard and stressful at times, I also have really enjoyed it and managed to come out with much better grades then expected. Hopefully this will help me be more confident next year so I dont feel as stressed and pressured.
    Being organised really helps... I have lost many many hours searching for and having to re-print out lectures and notes which I have carelessly misplaced, so definately try to start out organised and with a place for everything.