Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: How long did you stay at work before giving birth?

Thank you everyone for letting me know what you are doing or have done.

I am going to start taking every wednesday off a week from about 32 weeks, up until I leave (38 or 39 wks). I have a desk job, so think I will stay as long as possible, and having the wednesday's off will make it easier plus give me time to start organising myself.

nelliesbelly Guest

I finish work in 2 weeks at 34 weeks. I have had a lot going on in my personal life and feel I really need time before first baby arrives to rest and prepare mentally and practically as much as I can. Ive had insomnia for over 2 months and I really need to wind down and try to get more rest so Im leaving early.

I'm planning on working for as long as I can, mostly because I doubt I'll be entitled to any maternity pay at all, and it will be a struggle for us to survive on only DH's pay. I'm a casual teacher, and therefore no sick pay, holiday pay or maternity leave. The flexibility of the job is great, but now I want stability and entitlements! This is actually my biggest worry about my pregnancy. DH and I have worked out we should be able to save enough between now and the first so I sould stay off work for 4 months before I have to go back. Luckiyl when I do go back, one day a week will tide us over for the essentials and bills. I plan to breastfeed, and while I know my mother will be happy to mind our little star while I'm at work, I'm worried about how my breasts will cope with 7 hours without expressing or feeding!

I know this is a bit O/T but if anyone has any advice on entitlements for casual teachers, or if breasts can cope with about 7 hours, I'd be amazingly grateful!

Lisa xx

Womble Guest

I was going for 38 but ended up leaving at 37 - buggered and in need of some R&R and a mental break before bub arrives.