Thread: I'm really worried about this....should I be?

Angry I'm really worried about this....should I be?

Hi Everyone,

I feel like I have no one to talk to about this and I feel mixed emotions I need your honest opinions on whether you think that I am justified in complaining to HR or whether you think that I might be over-reacting.

Well many years ago a lady that used to work for my Boss for 5 years fell pregnant and went on Maternity Leave - she postphoned her return and eventually resigned from the Company as she wanted to take care of her children. I was given her job (Full time permantent Employee) and love it! I have been working in this role for 2 years and then fell pregnant. Eveything is fine in that regard. Boss is really happy for me and everything is going well and then the bombshell... my co-worker comes to me looking really worried. She tells me that she has been emailed by the lady that previously held my the job and this Lady knows that I am pregnant and planning on taking Maternity Leave and she wants to come back and do her old job. So my co-worker has booked an appointment with my Boss for her so that she can "chat" to him about coming back. My co-worker told me this in secrecy as she was sworn not to mention anything by the Lady in question.

There are a couple of things I am peeved about:

Firstly, she has no right to barge in here, and ask for "her" job back. She quit! The job is mine! Regardless of whether I am going on Maternity Leave or not.