Thread: Physical jobs and Pregnancy

Post Physical jobs and Pregnancy

Hi everyone,
    I am only just pregnant, but my dh and I were discussing when I would go on mat. leave and then go back to work after the baby was born.
    Our situation is: I am a full time teacher in a long day care centre and this is a very physically and emotionally draining job. I earn an ok wage, not alot but probably a bit more than average. I am also studying to complete my early childhood teachers degree which adds to the stress. My studies are due to be finished at the end of this year. Dh is a part time barman atm, but is studing to be a cop. He will be finishing work in about 6 weeks to go to Goulburn to complete his studies and will be there for 3 months. He will begin fulltime work at the begining of next year, he will be earning pretty good money at this time, so that won't be an issue.
    The issue is that I am really stressed out as it is due to two m/c from earlier pg, my studies this semester are really full on and I am thinking of defferring until next year as it is. Dh will not be around most of the time for the next three months due to studying in Goulburn, he'll only be home on (most) weekends,which adds to the stress. My job is great and I love it so I don't need to leave due to that, but I think I need a break. When Dh is a cop next year, I wanted to drop my hours, maybe to three to four days a week (probably 4 days) rather than 40 hr+ weeks.