Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread: Studying mummies

Sal Guest

Babydust, I studied my grad dip of psychology last year full-time, I had my last exam when I was 32w preggers. I found it fine, except I was extra tired and fell asleep in front of my books on a few occasions LOL.

Thank you everyone for sharing all your experiences and hopes! It's so inspiring to hear so many stories and realise people do the study/baby thing all the time.

Sorry I didn't get back to you sooner, Amben...

I'm a postgrad student: full-time PhD. I've been trying to get my head around the whole baby/study balance thing. I'm lucky as I don't have any classes to attend as such - unless I have to teach. The bloody enormous thesis is another matter! Childcare at uni is apparently awesome, though, and heaps of women in my department somehow manage to balance academic career and kids. DH is set on a great path and there's no way he can be the stay-at-home parent, either financially or in terms of his training. Plus with funding etc. this is really the only time I can do this. I get some maternity leave too which is an unexpected bonus.

I thought I wanted to devote myself entirely to motherhood and this is really the thing that bothers me. Will I let our kids down or will I enrich and equip them in other ways?? A big question. At the very least I will absolutely have to go part-time after kids if we have them sooner rather than later. I imagine it will be unimagineably tough.

Sal - re superwomen: I certainly won't be one. If I'm wearing my undies on the outside, it'll be because I'm too sleep deprived to realise I've put them on over my jeans and certainly not as part of a superhero costume!!

Sal Guest

LOL Queenie!! I haven't worn my undies on the outside, but I have worn my tops inside out on a number of bleary-eyed occasions - does that count?!?!

Wow, PhD, that would be really tough. You can did it part-time OK?