Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Teachers-when to take leave???

Exactly Fletch. I had mine start day 1 of term 2.

I am undecided whether to take half pay or not. A friend who is on mat leave said that she ended up with more than she expected because of the lower tax bracket.

It's hard to know what is best! I am a temporary teacher, and don't know if I will be back at the same school or not - could even be offered permanency somewhere. I think they are talking about making my position permanent, but that doesn't mean I would get it - it may go to someone on the transfer list. At least I am still eligible for mat leave!

My half pay certainly wasn't half my normal pay because of the tax.

Sally J
    How does it work for you since you a temporary teacher in ?? (what state) do you have to have continual contracts to be entitled?

Summer, in NSW if you are a temporary teacher and have 40 weeks continuous service you are eligible for all the same maternity benefits as a permanent teacher.

In fact you are eligible for all the same benefits pro rata for just about everything, inlucidng LSL. The only thing we don't have is access to salary packaging, and of course tenure.

MrsMac, would you mind sharing approximately what percentage of your pay you actually ended up with when you were on half pay?

I can't remember what % it was but I am at the top of the nSW pay scale and it was $1075 clear per fortnight. it would be more now with the payrise.

I am a few steps below - I think I'm on 10, but will be going up to 11 in October. Hmm. I think I will have to wait to see what my situation at my school will be. If I don't have a job next year, then I am probably better off taking the 28 weeks. I need to find out how it affects my prospects on the employment list.