Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cloth nappies 101 for dummies

Wink Cloth nappies 101 for dummies

Yup I'll admit it - I'm a dummy when it comes to cloth nappies. I have no knowledge whatsoever. I'm a disposable user.
    Sooo its surprising that i"m even writing that I'm thinking of going down the cloth nappy route. I did a search today on the internet for the bumgenius ones, and they look fantastic. However, I don't even know where to start in getting myself organised, or how to take care of them, or what goes with what - which is best etc etc etc.

Can someone point me in the right direction with straight forward advice and recommendations about how to start on this new road? I've told DH that its costly at the beginning for all the nappies but as they do for more than one child, we would end up saving heaps from buying disposables for Aricyn until he is toilet trained and this next one (plus we are planning one more).

So .. where do I start??? What do I do?? What kind of nappies are there? I don't understand all the abbreviations (like I said, dummy, know zilch) so if someone has a few minutes (or more) on their hands to let me in on this strange (yet compelling) world of cloth nappies, I would be very grateful.

Plus, also recommendations for nappies for an 18 month old and a newborn would be great.

THANK YOU SO MUCH IN ADVANCE.

Hi there!

I'd also like some advice. I have no idea of the difference between an all-in-one (AIO) nappy, pre-formed nappy and pocket nappy....

We're about to go into the big world of cloth nappies too, but have no idea where to start. I've been around and looked, but there's so many choices, so many fabrics and so many brands that my mind is about to explode!

My boy is a big wetter and hates a wet nappy, so I need something that will keep him a bit dry (don't want him waking up every time he pees) but like natural fabrics that will dry easily in a damp cold house during winter! Arrrggghhh!

Will watch this thread with interest!