Thread: Exercise

Default Exercise

Hi Ladies,

I am so, so excited to be here, am PG with #1 after TTC for about 14 months.

I was just wondering what everyone else in the first tri is doing exercise wise.

A bit of background... I am a group fitness instructor (am pretty fit) and am doing 3 body pump classes per week (dropped from 5-6). I am also walking (dropped my running and body attack classes). I plan on doing PG yoga from the second trimester and don't plan on taking up new exercise whilst pg.

I know they used to say you can't get your hr above 140bpm, but I believe this is now redundant and there is no limit on hr as long as you are not exerting yourself too much i.e. excessive sweating, breathlessness, dizzy etc.

Am curious to know your thoughts on exercise and how much you are doing / plan to do.

Snap!

I'm also an instructor of Attack, Balance, Combat, Pump, Jam and RPM :-)

I'm continuing with my Pump and Attack permanent classes, and I also do RPM 'for fun' still. I'm probably due around same time as you are too (just need a dating scan as I have no idea!) and this is baby number 3! I do one Pump, two Attack and maybe 2 RPM sessions weekly.

Continue on with your exercise, and you'll know in yourself when something isn't feeling right, and thats the time to back off ;-)

Good luck, wishing you all the best for a healthy and happy pregnancy!

Just listen to your body and do only what you can do without feeling too exhausted. As you are very fit you should theoretically be able to do most things you could do before however you may be surprised at how tired you do get in the first trimester so make sure you don't overdo it. One thing I was told is to not do much raising above your head ie. shoulder press and the like as it can cause your blood pressure to drop and make you feel dizzy.

Wow, that was quick, thank you ladies!!!

Leesa - good to hear from a fellow instructor too. Looks like we will be belly buddies, congrats on your pregnancy :-)