Thread: Out of pocket costs

Default Out of pocket costs

Hi,
    I'm new to belly belly, just 3 months pregnant. I decided to go private as I have private health insurance but it's starting already to become awfully expensive.

I knew the obstetrician would be expensive (he charged me $110 for the first visit and then $75 thereafter.) and I see him every five weeks until 30 weeks then at 33 weeks, then 36 weeks and weekly until delivery.

My first scan (12 weeks) that cost $139 and my second will cost $165 (19 weeks) plus I just got a bill out of the blue for $90 for my first lot of blood tests that were done almost 4 weeks ago.

I also have to pay out-of-pockets for my Obs of $910 plus my excess for private ($250-$400) plus hospital out-of-pockets.

Are these costs are typical for private patients? I know I get some back from Medicare but I feel like they saw me coming!

Please any suggestions would be welcome.
    Thanks

Hi Corr

Welcome to Bellybelly and congratulations on your pregnancy.

Firstly, yes, these costs seem pretty typical of private costs to me. You will get some back from Medicare so all up, it's not too bad.

I would much prefer (for me that is!) to go private and have continuing care by the same health provider from the beginning of the pregnancy right through to birth and post-natal care. That way, you have the same thoughts and opinions throughout and won't end up getting differing advice (which might confuse you).

Secondly, come and join us HERE and chat in the Pregnancy Belly Buddies!! We all love to chat and you might find quite a few ladies having similar symptoms and problems as you (not that you necessarily have any problems lol!) Just click on the month you are due and fill in some details (if you so desire!) When are you due? September/October? Loads of ladies there!

Best wishes and welcome again!!

Hi Corr

I`m also under a private Ob.

My first appointment with him at 10 weeks was $105.