Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread: Hospital Food

I have to say that I love hospital food, well, I have everytime I have been in hospital.

A tip that I was told was to order extra for your evening meal so that DH can share, that way you dont have to pay the extra for a meal for him as well.

The meals I had when I had the girls were beautiful and yummy and you could write exactly what you felt like on your form and they would bring it the next day. Brilliant when you crave seafood. But then again that was a private hospital.

Michelle, I know that you are going public. One thing to remember is that when you fill out your menu, dont go for anything that sounds fancy. I used to work in a hospital kitchen and anything that sounds fancy such as chicken casserole, or some kind of meat with a fancy name after it, is really just the left over roast and vegies from the day before. Not the most tasty of meals believe me.

I have never had a problem with the meals.

The hospital food wasn't that bad, though I think the breakfast could have been better (instead of the piece of dry toast etc).
    I think whenever I dont have to cook, I appreciate it quite a bit more!

I have been in hospital many times before and had the menu system, however they forgot to give me the menu/checkbox card when I was in there with Aidyn, so I got what was left over... bugga! #-o

I was impressed with the fantastic hospital food for my 8 month old during my stay in the mother-baby unit; freshly prepared pureed meats and veges, baked custard, fresh and pureed fruits, yoghurts - he gobbled them all as if they were delicious!

hehehehehe... This all reminds me of when my little sis was born (I was in Kinder) and Mum let me steal a whole bunch of those little Vegemites and Jams and Sugar packets hahaha... I had the biggest stash. I remember taking them to school and handing them out to everyone LOL...

i quite like hospital food too.