Thread: Proactiv during pregnancy??

Question Proactiv during pregnancy??

Hi there,
    Now all the ladies here are smart and wise so i am hoping you can give me some more advice on a different topic!
    I have been using proactiv solution (the acne treatment) for the past 2 years and i am wondering if it is still safe to continue using whilst pregnant? it's main ingredient is Benzoyl Peroxide. i have checked the other ingredients on their website and it does not contain Accutane or anything by that name. i have been using it thus far but this morning i just had a 'feeling' that i should really check to see if it's safe. i will be seeing my doc this week and will check with him too but just wanted to get some outside advice as well. Thanks a lot, take care and God bless. x x x

I used proactive throughout my pregnancy with my twin girls..I never really thought too much about it..Fast forward 18 months and I have changed products..I wanted something a bit more natural and I am currently using a brand callled Essenza..It has lavender essential oil in it..MMMMMM..I actually find my skin is a lot better than when I was using proactive..maybe my skin got" use to it"

Thanks for that. i have decided to change to a more natural product anyways so if you have anymore advice on products that u may know of that would be great!

I swear it must sound like i get commissions or soemthing for this range, but i dont!! But, of course, i am going to recommend sukin.

**** Sukin Organics - Organic Australia Skincare ****

Hi, I've done some research on this myself and apparently benxoyl peroxide (the active ingredient in proactiv) is classed as a category C drug- So far, there have been no studies on humans or animals that show risk correlations between benzoyl peroxide and pregnancy. See this link- Benzoyl peroxide and pregnancy This means the risk is still unknown. If I were you I would just check it with your doctor.