Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Public Hospital?

Default Public Hospital?

Hi everyone

I'm fairly new to Australia (from America), and I don't have private health cover. I'm wondering if anyone who has gone through pregnacy and delivery without private cover could share their experiences with me. Will Medicare cover U/S's and blood tests along the way? When it comes time to deliver (I will be delivering via a planned caesarean due to previous myomectomy to remove fibroid tumours), what all will I have to pay for? I know Medicare covers the hospital, but will it cover the procedure and the doctor's charges? Sorry for asking so many questions, but maybe if I get your opinions I can be prepared for whats to come.

Thanks!
    Stephanie

Dont know about this darling (but someone will!).. just wanted to say welcome to BB.. and Australia too I guess! Where in the states are you from? hope you're liking it here.

K

Custardtart Guest

Hi Stefnie,
    I'm sure there is someone here who can give you a breakdown on costs, some of it will be out of pocket but keep in mind that after the birth the govenment grants you a $3000 baby allowance that will help defray costs.

Kerrie