Thread: Gastroschisis

Question Gastroschisis

I have had my 18 week scan and have learnt that my baby has gastroschisis. This is when the baby's abdominal wall has failed to fuse and their poor little bowel is on the outside. (If you saw the first episode of saving babies on ten it is the same as baby Issac). Does anyone else have/had/know of any gastroschisis babies?

Other than that my baby is fine, and I've no complications or complaints throughout my pregnany so far. I live in Port Macquarie so my baby will no doubt be born via C-Sec and operated on in Sydney or (maybe Newcastle?) soon after birth.

Oh you poor thing - what an awful thing to find out about your poor baby.

Im a paediatric nurse and see a fair few of these babies. I just want to let you know that the first few months are not going to be easy, there will be a few operations and lots of worry, but the majority of babies get through this and are fine. There are some significant problems associated with the condition, especially in relation to their lung development and their intestinal organ development. I would highly advise talking to your obstetrician and a neonatologist to explore options. Your baby will be delivered by caesarian section to avoid undue stress on the organs, and will be taken to the intensive care nursery straight away to be assessed.

You should have a look on the internet for parent support groups so that you can talk to them and find out about their journeys. It's always a good idea to talk to other parents and find out what worked for them and their baby.

Make sure you find out as much as you can before the birth about gastroschisis and know your options. I always think it's a good idea to be prepared. Make sure you that focus on the positives as well - after all it's your little person that you made with love!!