Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Massaman Curry...help!!

Talking Massaman Curry...help!!

Ok so my big mouth has gotten me in trouble...again lol!

I can't seem to stop big noting myself if there is any hint of competition going on I'm not the best cook but of course being me I told my friend that is coming over for dinner tomorrow night, that i'm an awesome cook. I said "what's your fave food, I can cook anything" he said "Massaman Curry".

K, so I need your best recipes or links to recipe pages please! I can google myself but i'd really like to know if anyone has any awesome recipes that they use.

I have considered getting him drunk so he can't really taste it but he's not drinking as he's in training.

So help please!!!!!

Ok, will dig up my recipe and be back...

But make sure you use CHiCKEN not beef - so much better flavour... potatoes, onions and some peanuts - it really is easy, so don't fret BBS.

I have tried one of the recipes from the taste website, it was ok.. I also saw one pop up on a blog the other day which I havent tried yet. The blog is the 120dollarfoodchallenge and here is the link to the recipe.. not sure if I am allowed to post the link or not (pls remove if not ok)

Day 5

Thanks guys! LS look forward to seeing it and mumma thanks i'll check it out!

For a sensational ridgy didge curry, make your own paste using this recipe.....

This is from Madhur Jaffrey's curry bible..... yum.

Mussaman curry paste

7 dried hot red chilli's (preferably long ones)
    1/2teaspoon white pepercorns
    1/2t whole cummin seeds
    1 teaspoon whole corriander seeds
    2 1/2cm cinnamon
    140g shallots
    1 Tablesppon fresh lemon grass, sliced thinly
    5 large cloves of garlic
    2 1/2 cm piece of fresh ginger
    1 teaspoon of curry powder
    1/2 teaspoon shrimp paste- or 3 tinned anchovies.
    1/2 teaspoon ground tumeric

Soak chillies in hot water for 1-2hrs