Thread: desserts for kids - reasonably healthy?

Default desserts for kids - reasonably healthy?

I'm not sure its possible to have a healthy dessert (not the way I make them anyway) but if anyone has some ideas or recipes, or can point me at a link that would be great.

What about custard, plain sponge, tinned fruit and jelly? Very easy and usually a winner with kids.

tinned and fresh fuit we do currently.
    Milo wont eat jelly, so thats out.
    I might check out some sponge recipes, thanks, I hadn't thought of that,

I am not good at custard, I always burn it on the stove, or explode it in the microwave.

LOL @ custard Slowly and surely if you use the packet mix it works well... fosters I think... I just nuke it for a min or 2 and whisk and repeat till thick enough...

Meringues? with fruche and fresh fruit?

Baked fruit, pastries with fruit, I make a really nice apricot frangipani gratin that paris and seth love and its quick and easy can serve with ice cream, or cream, or marscapone etc

*hugs*
    Cailin

ooh I might try baked apple with sultanas. hmm.., whats a gratin.. that sounds familiar, i should know..

Here's the recipe:

Ingredients (serves 4)
    1 cup almond meal (ground almonds)
    80g butter, softened
    1/2 cup caster sugar
    1 egg
    825g can apricot halves in natural juice, drained
    Method
    Preheat oven to 200C. Place almond meal, butter, sugar and egg in a food processor. Process until well combined.
    Arrange apricots, cut side down, in a shallow, 6-cup capacity ceramic baking dish. Spoon almond mixture over apricots and spread evenly to cover. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes or until golden. Serve.
    Notes & tips
    Note: When in season, you can use 8 fresh apricots, halved and stones removed.
    Source

Super Food Ideas - October 2006 , Page 48
    Recipe by Ready Steady Cook - Manu Feildel