Thread: Any secondary school teachers?

Default Any secondary school teachers?

I have started casual teaching at a boys school and was doing ok until today. I had two classes that really pushed me to the edge. Do you have any tips for me about how I can manage casual teaching better? How do good casual teachers deal with bad behaviour?

ok well im not a teacher but i do know as i was a student not long ago most of us treat casual teachers like crap coz we know we can get away with a lot more without the usual teacher around not sure how u should deal with it maybe if it gets unbareable u should talk to a coordinator or vice principal or even the principal as boys can be a lot worse when it comes to playing up at skool i know its not very helpful but it is an insight into students world i know im guilty of doing it sometimes i wish i didnt but cant take it back now

Afraid I've never done casual teaching - I've always been permanent... but at my current (if you can call it current when I'm on maternity leave) I've always had to take a lot of extra classes to cover for absent teachers (the joys of the private system! ).

Anyway, the one thing that I can suggest is learning their names as soon as possible. Don't always trust what they tell you, though. They will try to switch names and give false names and so on, and I can imagine it would be so much worse with someone they don't know rather than someone they just don't normally have. Look at diaries, pencil cases, books - read the names. Listen carefully for what they call each other - if they are trying it on over names, theyll often slip up when speaking to each other rather than you.