Thread: getting into uni - mature age

Question getting into uni - mature age

hi,

im hoping to hear from anyone who has gotten into uni as mature age student... im a novice when it comes to university and need all the help i can get in understanding how the system works. is there anyway of knowing how difficult it is to get an offer as a mature age student? are places few and far between, or do i stand a decent chance? im hoping to study a double degree, bachelor of nursing and midwifery at monash gippsland, but have no idea if i have any chance.

i have read that by completing two units of study from the course, this MAY enhance the chances of getting an offer. has anyone heard or done this?

any tips or advice AT ALL about uni and applications, when to apply, numbers of places, ANYTHING you can offer would be of interest to me.

Hi Emma,

As I understand it, most unis will have a certain number of places specially for mature aged students. So in other words, you probably wouldnt be competing against school-leavers for a spot in uni. This was the case for my course (nursing) but may not be the case for every course at every uni. Best to check with the uni to be sure.

I started uni this year. I applied through the tertiary admissions centre last year. Have a look on the tac website and that should tell you when you can apply and all the closing dates, how too apply and so on. I did all of my application online and then had to also send them a copy of some of my certificates and pay a fee for my application. I think the fee was about $40. It was fairly simple to do my application. I think the applications opened in August and closed in October but it might be differnt between the different states.