Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What are the benefits of BF'ing DD beyond 12 months?

Default What are the benefits of BF'ing DD beyond 12 months?

I am surprised we're nearly here already! I haven't been able to BF my boys as long as I have with DD so I am very pleased . My goal was to reach 12 months. We are nearly there and I wonder what the benefits are of BF'ing her for much longer are. She doesn't BF for comfort or to get to sleep, I usually BF her when she wakes in the morning, after her two naps and before she goes to bed for the night. I have no problem with this at all, it's all too easy and we both enjoy the snuggles . But I don't know how I feel about BF'ing a toddler! That sounds so crazy I know, but I've never done it before! DS2 weaned himself just before 11 months of age, it was against my will (he just flat-out refused to BF any more ). Now I am looking at the other side with DD, wondering when we should stop LOL! She would be very easy to wean, but I'm torn!

Yesterday I was able to go out by myself for a few hours and when I got home DD had just woken from a nap and I fed her, she stared so intently into my eyes while feeding because she'd missed me and it was soooo sweet. But there has to be a better reason to continue BF'ing than that doesn't there? Is she better off physically having BM over cows milk? If so, why?

Oh, this post is just stupid and makes no sense . I dunno, I'm just having conflicting feelings about everything. Maybe she'll wean herself soon and I won't have to worry haha!

i used to think i felt wierd about feeding a toddler too, but your baby goes so slowly from a baby to a toddler that i didn't notice the transition and i don't have any issues with it.