Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Caesarean Chatter #2

it doesn't matter if you've had a GA (general aneasthetic) or a spinal/ epidural, the bowel still gets paralyzed during the procedure. Asking if you've passed flatus, or used your bowels is the only way nurses can tell if things internally are working again. The worst thing you can do is strain to use your bowels post csec, when there's lots of medicenes you can take to prevent it! so yes nurses are bowel obsessed but for a very good reason, and I know it seems intrusive for you, but to us ( obviously I am a nurse) its just like asking if you are hungry. It 's a question we ask after any theatre not just csecs!!!! So don't be embarassed and try not to be tooo annoyed at us, we are just trying to make sure you are OK.
    I have no harsh feelings about my csec, but I'm fingers crossed bigtime that I don't have to do it again. And you sometimes bleed more after a csec, coz not much comes out during delivery compared to a vaginal ( when heaps comes out then and there!!) The uterus contracts when BF and thats another reason health professional recommend it at least for a few weeks, it helps everything go back where its meant too!!!
    Anyway girls, I am hoping I'm not going to be here saying I've had to have another csec, but if I do, I know everything will be ok too.

Bleeding is finally settling down \/ Oh boy, the things I get excited over these days!!

Spoke to mum about the numb spots (she had 4 c/s, the last 19yrs ago) and she said she still has spots that are numb. Weird hey?!

Strange that you weren't allowed to eat for a few days Tootie, why was that?