Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 40 minute naps - PLEASE HELP!!!

belmarks Guest

Default 40 minute naps - PLEASE HELP!!!

My son is 5 months old and is still napping for 40 minutes. How can I get him to resettle after that initial sleep cycle? He sleeps through the night fine, but during the day, is absolutely horrible!

I have tried everything, rocking, patting, music, getting him up (but all he does is grizzle because he's still tired).

I have just been in there for about the 50th time today trying to resettle him and I can feel my blood boiling as Im patting him....

I have been putting up with this for 5 months and he is getting no better, does anyone have any solutions for a very frazzled mum?? I am not willing to do that controlled crying thing, that's why I am in here asking for anyone's advice...

PS - he has a dummy and he won't even resettle when I give that back to him and if I pick him up, he puts on the biggest performance and then I have absolutely no chance of getting him back to sleep - I just don't know what else to try...

Apparently they are supposed to be having 2-3 large day sleeps at this stage, he has about 6 or 7 small naps AAAARRRGGHHHHHH!!!! ](*,)

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, Australia

Bel, how is he sleeping at night? Because often if they have bigger sleeps at night they will have less during the day and vise versa. Babies sleep cycles are shorter than adults, they have a different pattern of sleep and the cycles are only 40 mins long.

I would be interested to hear how he sleeps at night. If you add up all the sleep time into one, it probably adds up too. All babies are different and I think sometimes we can get so tired and desperate for sleep that we become really, really focused on getting them to sleep - I am guilty for that sometimes.