Thread: Hello, I'm new and also trying to lose weight

Melzy Guest

Default Hello, I'm new and also trying to lose weight

Ok I'll start with my back ground, I have been ttcing casually for about 4 years, I want to get serious about it but in august landed myself in hospital because of my gallbladder. I need to have it taken out but first have to lose weight, I started at 91kg in august at the hospital and now aobut 83kg. I feel the weight loss is going incredibly slow, the docs want me at 70kg before they operate and my ideal weight is 55kg, which I would like to achieve after the operation. I saw the dietitian who made sensible suggestions and says slow weight loss is better in the long run but my operation date keeps getting shifted back further and it is frustrating.

So does anyone have any suggestions on making my weight loss more successful? Or am I expecting too much?

Here is a sample diet:

Breakie, 2 weet-bix, with skim milk and a tsp sugar, and half a cup of orange juice

Snack, 5 almonds

Lunch, 1 wholemeal sandwich of chicken breast, low fat cheese slice, slice pineapple, carrot, tomato, lettuce and bbq sauce and lite dijonnaise.

Snack, apple

Dinner, lean steak, onion, potato, broccoli, carrots, corn and gravy.

Sometimes I skip the snacks

I also try to do a brisk walk about 45 minutes in the arvo and somedays in addition swim laps in the morning about 500m

What are your thoughts? Any tips?

Thanks for any comments, tips, suggestions.

Merry Christmas

Hi Melzy

Congratulations on your weight loss so far. You have lost quite a lot there! Well done, remember that it will take time and as long as you are committed (which you certainly are!), you will get to your goal.

After looking at your sample diet, it looks pretty good to me!! I reckon as long as you stick to a plan similar in protein content, carbohydrate content and grains, you should go well.

Certainly your exercise regime is excellent!