Thread: Need Advice - Early Miscarriage

Default Need Advice - Early Miscarriage

Hi everyone. I need some advice.

It's not common knowledge (I guess it kind of is now, though) but myself and DW have been TTC for two months now. DW got her period about a week ago, and then it stopped two days ago, but suddenly yesterday evening, she started to get lots of bright red bleeding, and severe period pain, much worse than normal. She's in bed this morning, and she tells me she didn't sleep much overnight (I finished night shift yesterday, so I was virtually unconscious overnight... ) Because she was having lots of pregnancy symptoms until her period started - in fact, right up until now - we suspect this might be an early miscarriage.

I'm unsure as to whether I should try and get her in to her GP, or whether she needs to go to ED, for ultrasounds, or whether we let things take their course. I know, I know, I'm a nurse, and she's a midwife, but it's just one of those situations where I am unsure.

Oh Michael i am really sorry to hear this! to both of you.

Personally with my first one i let nature take its course and then had myself checked out via ultra sound a few days later. Second time i did not want to wait for it all to happen naturally and so had medical intervention quickly.

I think it really depends on how your wife is feeling - much more how she is feeling emotionally rather than physically.

There are no answers here, its just a matter of finding what feels best for you.

Maybe just a visit to the GP for a BT then take it from there.

So sorry to hear this
    When I miscarried, I had bright red bleeding and sharp abdominal pains and went and got checked out by my gp. After doing a HPT & blood test, results the next day showed I had miscarried. I then let nature take its course, and had an ultrasound about a week or two later to make sure it had passed.