Thread: An Unprofessional Consultant...

Dylan Guest

Default An Unprofessional Consultant...

Hi All,

im a newbie to this site and posting for the first time.
    i would like to seek some guidance or advice as to what best to do.
    BTW, im posting this on behalf of my wife.

we recently went for our first consultation at RHW.
    my wife and i met with a female consultant who gathered all our details and then spoke privately to my wife about personal things.

my wife has since told me what happened in the room after i left them to speak. they discussed issues such as mental health and abuse.
    my wife feeling that past issues may cause her to have post-natal depression decided to open up to the female consultant. after pouring out her most hidden self the consultant said "so he cracked onto you did he?", "he didnt rape you then?" and giggled. my wife just cried, as she typed away.

i'm still in shock as i write this down. im not to sure what i hope to achieve for this but it seems just very unprofessional and no understanding of the situation at all.

confused and feeling helpless father to be.

welcome to BB Dylan - you've come to a great place for advice

firstly - congratulations on your bub! awesome news!!!

with regard to the consultant - i would personally be putting in a complaint to the hospital - there is NO way that this sort of thing should be happening! i don't know your wife's exact situation, and i don't want to pry at all - but ANYTHING that your partner considered traumatic - no matter the consultants personal opinion - should be shown the utmost respect by the consultant!