Thread: Corporate Wear for Pregnancy...advice?

Chalalan Guest

Question Corporate Wear for Pregnancy...advice?

Hi lovely BBers!

I am currently TTC and have got myself a new job that I start in January. I need to buy a new work wardrobe and I'm not really too sure what to get. I want some stuff that looks really professional for an excutive position but can stretch a bit to take a sweling belly if I'm lucky enough to fall preggers in the next couple of months.

I'm currenly overseas at the moment, so in your replies can you describe items / styles / fabrics rather than give me names of good shops to buy? I'm going to do some shopping here (Buenas Aires) as it is much cheaper than Aus but the quality is still there.

My background is mining so I am coming from steel caps and cotton drill so any advice would be appreciated!

Wrap-around skirts which you can adjust as necessary?

I found it was good to have a couple of suit jackets.... can cover a bump in the first few months if you're not ready to share your news

I work in a law firm, so our dress code is very corporate. I always got by with two pairs of good quality black maternity pants and two stretchy 3/4 length skirts - one black, one charcoal grey. I wore my suit jackets with these as long as I could and then I just found that the skirts with my normal work shoes and pantyhose or the black pants looked fine.

In summer I just wore normal maternity tops with these skirts and pants.

I think that people understand you need to be a bit more casual when you're prg.

Chalalan Guest

Thanks Willow..will look out for stretchy skirts and fabrics. Jackets sound like a good idea too for hiding bumps.

I agree with Willow. I work in IT, and with some things I could get by with just getting a size larger than normal.