Page 14 of 17 FirstFirst ... 41213141516 ... LastLast

Thread: Nursing/Midwifery students (or wannabes LOL)....

Hi Nina,

I studied externally through UniSA. I won't get into the politics b/w the difference of nursing and mid BUT will help you out with the placement thing...
    The FPO (Field Placement Office) will say they are affiliated with a hospital if they have placed a student at that hospital in the past. Sometimes a venue will host a student and then decide not to do it again. The issue with external placements is that often the hospital is hosting just 1 or 2 students from UniSA at a time which can be somewhat time consuming and draining for the educator. It usually takes the same amount of rescources and time as hosting 10 students from one University but they often seem to find it more difficult with just one student. Not sure why!
    Some hospitals are also reluctant to place interstate students for the fear that they will not have physical support from the University. The school provides a facilitator (someone from the Uni who keeps in contact with you to make sure you're ok, meeting learning objectives, being looked after by the hospital etc). For many rural and interstate students, support from the facilitator is over the phone and some hospitals prefer it to be in person. In recent years, the University has been trying to employ people closer to the students physical location so they can "drop in". This isn't always possible though.