Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Favourite Children's Books

Ohhhhhhhh Sarah what a great topic, I have many many many favourite kids books and have a huge library of them ( I am a junior primary teacher) Tori is a big young for favs, but here are some of my favs that I read to her lots.

My Dad - Anothony Brown
    Too Many Pears- Jackie French
    Pete the Sheep- Jackie French ( love this book because DH is called Pete and he used to be a shearer)
    Wilfred Gordon McDonald Partridge- Mem Fox (My all time fav)

I could go on and on but those were the ones that popped to mind immeditatley

"Sometimes i like to curl up in a ball" Can't think of the author at the moment but its a goegrous little book about a wombat. Ash and i both LOVE it

"Guess how much I love you" All kids should have this book!

"Humphrey's corner" books by Sally Hansen, the most beautiful illustrations ever and gorgeous books

Humphrey's Corner is the little blue (?) elephant isn't it?

My boys love to read this one every night before bed. its called "My Dad" from the ABC shop.. and its about activities you dowith your dad "My dad takes me to the park" and then they have little actions they do. At the end it says "My dad loves me." Ryan loves reading it to them

We have the little hardcover version of "guess how much i love you" too. I think its a gorgeous book

Mem Fox is brilliant, I love all of her books. My girls loved Time for bed which I used to read to them each night. Wilfred Gordon... makes me cry every time, I have the big book of it for school but I can't read it. Wombat Stew is good too and Where The Wild Things are is still a great book. There are so many wonderful children's books around.

I love reading to Gussy. At the moment our favourite books are "The Gruffalo" and "Monkey Puzzle" both by Julia Donaldson and "Over in the Meadow" by Jane Cabrera

*Owl Babies (Martin Waddell) - absolutely gorgeous book that addresses seperation anxiety.