Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 5678 LastLast

Thread: Caesarean General Chatter & Discussion #5

Thanks for sharing that Iluvella. I think it totally makes sense. You can know that it had to happen, but still feel that you have missed out on something. I feel a bit like that. It doesn't bother me often, but I sometimes feel disappointed that I didn't go through a natural childbirth experience.

There is a birthing debrief forum here that you can write all of these feelings in that might help you with your feelings.

Jodie259 Guest

Hi girls... I'm new to this thread. (didn't know it existed - this forum is so big!).
    I had an emergency c/s on the 27th May. I had been in labour for 12-14 hours. Within a couple of hours of the onset I was in agony. We thought I was going to have the baby on the 15 minute drive to the hospital. When I got there I was only 3cm - but the doctor suggested epidural. Thank god for that as I would have died with all that pain!

Turns out my big bubba (9 pound) - was back on back. Thus the pain. He started turning, but at 7cm dilation he stopped. A couple of hours at 7cm and both myself and my baby were "distressed" (personally I was feeling fine as the pain had been numbed!). We were also aware that I had a large cyst on my ovary - so doctor said that caesar was necessary & that was removed.

I went to the Ob today for my 6 week check - and all is well. The scar is healing well, and I was so surprised to find that I had internal stitches and the scar was so thin. I had a really top ob - so that may have helped. He said I could have a vaginal birth "next time" if I really wanted to... but in honesty - I think I would elect another caesar if that time comes. I recovered really quickly, and I've bonded really well with my baby.

I haven't had any negative comments from anyone (not to my face at least). I wouldn't care what people say anyway.