Page 10 of 17 FirstFirst ... 89101112 ... LastLast

Thread: Flat nappy discussion

Over the flats (both flannel and Terry) I use Snibs and a those fluffy covers... can't remember their name... BUT you have to use about 1 size larger than your baby... don't buy the smallest size. They actually get better as they get older... at first they are a bit tight. Ahhh wish I could remember their name... maybe "Fluffies". They are still available... essentially undie shaped covers made from very fluffy nylon. Sometimes during the day you can get away without using a Snib... but they are essential at night. I've also been known to use training pants as covers.

From my experience terry flats are better at night (more absorbant) and flannel ones better during the day (not as bulky, better for mobility).

Hi all,
    I am very new to the whole nappy world - due in June and researching at the mo. Just from this thread i have learnt A LOT so thanks to you all. So aside from the whole which nappy, liner, cover etc to use I am actually equally as intrigued about the logisitcs of washing the darn things (the nappies that is!)

So, can you please impat your knowledge to me regarding your strategies to manage the poo - do you go for a liner (if so what type and why), do you put it straight into the machine poo and all, do you soak / drypail? What sort of wachine detergent do you use?
    Is it any different for pre-folds, flats (terry or flannel).

I'm as concerned about water and detergent use as the impact of sposies in landfill, so need to know how you maximise your washing strategies to get the most done with as little water as possible.

Thanks
    Lolly

There seems to be two thoughts on washing nappies.

When my girls were small I put the mess down the toilet, rinsed the nappy and then soaked it in a bucket with napisan
    My daughter uses a method called dry pailing. You put the mess down the toilet them place nappy in a bucket with no water.