Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: * Herbal Remedies & Supplements for TTC

Pebs Guest

Hi Aussie Chick,

Ive been using Vitex for a couple of months , 1 tablet in the morning and 1 at night, and have found that it has helped stablise my LP, I was having really short LP of around 8-10 days, Im up to 12-14 days now, apparently 14 is about average. Hope this helps. As for B6, sorry Im not too sure about that one.
    Last edited by Astrolady; May 16th, 2006 at 05:22 PM.

Hi AussieChik,
    Welcome to Belly Belly.

As you probably know a short luteal phase isn't conjucive to maintaining pregnancy. Most practitioners agree that a luteal phase of at least 10 -11 days is needed to maintain a pregnancy. (Some ob's feel it is more like 12, it will depend on the individual practitioner.) This is because the cluster of cells doesn't have enough time to implant. The short luteal phase occurs because their isn't enough progesterone produced to maintain the lining of the uterus.

Vitex stimulates progesterone production and is thought to increase the luteal phase. It is a very good regulator of cycles. I have always taken it prior to conception and after the births of all of my babies.

B6 also has a stabilising effect on the hormones and is often prescribed in conjunction with vitex. Some obstetricians will prescribe b6. Low levels or insufficient levels of the b vitamins are known to cause luteal phase problems.

In modern medicine clomid is often prescribed to aid in luteal phase 'defects'. Basically ovulation is stimulated slightly earlier than you usually ovulate thus increasing the luteal phase.

I would highly recommend vitex and b6 to help to regulate your cycles. Dong Quai is another really helpful herb.

I wish you loads of luck and look forward to seeing you with a BFP very soon.

Aussie_Chik Guest

Thanks for the great info girls - I'll get onto it asap!

Talking

Hi all,
    Is vitex available over the counter, chemists, health food shop???