Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Blastocyst Vs Day 2/3 transfer

Melb - where my coolness isn't seen as wierdness

Default Blastocyst Vs Day 2/3 transfer

I am not a doctor and don't purport to be one, but often this question gets asked over and over, so I thought I'd share some of the notes I made when discussing this issue with my doctor, and hope that it helps someone make their decision about how they wish to progress with their treatment.

Also having said that, many clinics don't do anything but blast transfers, so for some, it is a moot point anyway.

Why have a Day 2 transfer?

1) Because the rate of loss of embryos at Day 3 (approx 8 cell stage) is quite low, you often have as many embryos to transfer, or cryopreserve for later, as was initially fertilised. This often means that should 10 eggs fertilise and you transfer 2, you will then have 8 embryos in storage for further cycles without the emotional and physical strain of repeated IVF stimulated cycles. It also means being able to do back to back cycles, which is not possible with stimulated cycles.

2) The chances of success with a Day 2 transfer are very respectable, at around 20%. This may be more or less depending on your age group or reason for infertility, but is by no means anything to sneeze at. This represents a 1 in 5 chance of falling pg. So, again, with the above example, your chances of potentially falling pg in the next 5 cycles (and this could be the next five months back to back) are pretty good.

3) The chances of a cancelled cycle due to the loss of all embryos is very, very slim.

Why have a blast transfer?