Thread: Thinking about getting a job - is this crazy?

Default Thinking about getting a job - is this crazy?

Hey everyone,

I'm thinking about getting a job (no, that's not the crazy part ), as with rising interest rates and food prices, like everyone else, we are finding it a bit tight on 1 wage. We don't need a lot more, maybe an extra $100 a week for the moment just so we don't accumulate any debt.

I'm studying to be a massage therapist, i have 10 weeks left and then i will be opening a business from home, which hopefully with a lot of hard work will be quit successful from the reposnse i've had so har. We will use this money to save up for a car (we will need one that can take 3 car seats in the back for when we have our next child), and for school fees. Whatever if left over will go towards extra repayments on the house, and doing sopme reno's i want done.

I'm really looking forward to running the business - i think a challenge will be good for me, it will be a lot of hard work but something that i will have achieved all by myself, and some time away from the kids (it will be PT from home, as i never wanted to have my kids in care full time), and the extra money will be great, as i have a tendancy to worry about money a bit.

I don't want to start taking clients already, even though i am good enough to. Mainly as i can't get insurance until i formally finish the last bit of supervised hours, and also, i would feel like i can only charge a student rate (about 50% discount), and many have suggested that once you do that you lose the ability to ever charge those customers full price, as in their minds you are only worth what they were paying in the beginning. So i would rather wait 10 weeks and have them as long term customers if that makes sense?