Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Roast Recipes & Tips

Default Roast Recipes & Tips

Hey everyone,

Being our first proper Xmas, I'm planning on doing a full on formal lunch or dinner. Our neighbours gave us some beef and I thought I'd do a roast. Only thing is I've never done one before So I was wondering if you wouldn't mind sharing how you do a roast (do you just bung it in the oven or... ?) and any hints or tips that you might have. Thanks guys, much appreciated.

Last year was my 1st roast beef too Angel

it was too big so cook as one piece so i cut it in half and this helped reduce cooking time.

but i did nothing fancy just put it in pan with about an inch of water and bung it in the oven for a couple of hours. Everyone must have liked it cause i have to do it again this year LOL

Love

Hi Angel,

~I always buy the leanest piece of topside I can, and unwrap it from its plastic straight away, and then smear it with English mustard, & leave it out at room temp for a hour or so.
    ~ I use an electric frypan to cook it in: for 30 mins per kilo, turning it regularly so it browns all over. I often add red wine or beef stoock to the pan so that it sits in lots of juice (which I then use to make a thin gravy)and doesn't dry out. Like Kathryn suggested, if your piece of beef is huge, cut it in half to reduce the cooking time.
    ~ Even in summer and all year round in Darwin I cook roast potatoes to go with it, but usually serve salad instead of hot veggies.
    ~ About 1/2 an hour before we want to eat, I take the beef out of the electric fry pan, and wrap it in foil and leave it to rest and relax.
    ~ Then I carve it as thinly as possible (I actually use an electric carving knife) and arrange it on a serving plate, and drizzle the gravy over the top, and I usually chuck over a few chopped fresh herbs as well.

Good luck!