Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Top 3 things you didn't need for baby

Yep - couldn't live without our change table or monitor!!!
    I agree with booties and mittens - NEVER used them. The millions of powders and oils/creams...only need 1-2 max of each - i have plenty still left untouched after 1 yr. Stuffed toys - ok a couple of nice ones look lovely on display -but have absolutely no use to a baby - not stimulating (sorry - i studied early childhood and am an advocate for developmental/educational toys...not just pretty ones).

Gosh, I found some of those things completely useful!! Baby monitor definitely, since she slept in another room (no space in ours), swing is great (when tiny she slept in it at other ppl's places and now gives her somewhere to play without me needing to be watching her when I'm doing the dishes, etc), I use the change table on top of our drawers every change (better for my back than bending over) and the baby bath is only just about to be retired (sits on the kitchen bench for bathing, right height for DP).

The things I didn't need were:
    1. newborn clothes that were too summery (even though she was born in March it got cold way more quickly than I thought it would).
    2. stuffed toys (how many can a tiny baby use? None!)
    3. some of the parenting books I was loaned (OMG I can't believe what some ppl 'recommend' for a baby!)
    4. same as the other girls - lots of the nappy cream lotions and powder (that I got given or as samples). I got pawpaw ointment and sorbolene and she hasn't had nappy rash once.