Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Blended families chatter

Default Blended families chatter

Hi everyone

I was wanting to start a thread for Blended families to chat and get to know each other
    It would be great if we could introduce ourselves and 'our brady bunch'

I am not very experienced at conducting this type of thing but any suggestions/help would be great

I will start by introducing me and mine

I am married 5 years together 8) 1 son(23) 2 stepsons (19 16) 1 son together (9 months) yes all boys thank god 2 cats and 1 is a girl! and we all live together most of the time with the stepboys spending time with their mum also

Its a challenging role at the best of times but we are committed to making it work

I look forward to you posting here

Hi marlin

My DH and I have been together 4 years (married for 3). I have a 21 month old DD, 2 step DDs (8 and almost 13) and a step DS (10). We live in another town to the stepkids so only get to see them every second weekend and a week each school holidays. The kids are great, looking forward to having them for a week on Saturday. They love our DD, it's so beautiful to see - and she adores them of course!

We're just starting to come into the teen years with the eldest SDD so it will be interesting to see if/how things change. She is a wonderful girl but I just remember how I was in my teen years - my poor mum! I think we were lucky in a sense that DH and I got together when the kids were quite young. They were amazingly accepting of me from word go, but I imagine it may have been harder for you with teen stepsons?

thanks for replying Claire_A

I am in victoria too Melbourne

My stepsons were 8 and 11 when we met so one on the verge of the teenage years and my boy was 15 so an awkward time for him

It has been a bumpy road at times and never a dull moment
    I found it mostly goes well but 1 of my ss is not so open to it all