Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I need your help to support families

Default I need your help to support families

Hi everyone,
    I hope you don't mind me posting in here and asking for some advice from you all. Many of you may or may not know that I'm a midwife and now I am becoming one of the more senior ones at work and I'm being ask to step up in birth suites. So basically I am going to be caring and support women, their partners and support people through labour and giving birth to their precious babies who are too special for this earth.
    I am just terrified that I am going to say the wrong thing and make the most difficult situation even worse for the parents. I just want to support/help them through the best way I can.

So if you don't mind sharing what did you find helpful during your labour that your midwife/support people did/said and what was unhelpful/hurtful/distressing?

I'm thanking you all in advance for sharing your thoughts on such a personal and private day. Please don't feel pressured to share anything that you are not comfortable with. Absolutely nothing shared in here I will ever repeat. It is purely for my own personal development. I promise you all that.

Thank you all so much,
    Dan.

Dan - I am one handed typing but I am more than happy to talk to you any time and give you my perspective. I will try to get back when I have two hands to type with and give you a response too.

I know how hard things are for you at the moment Michelle so no hurry at all. Thank you for being willing to share your perspective with me

I'm quite happy to help as well Did you want the answers in this thread, or via PM?

When I was in labour with Emmanuel my midwife was an angel. It was not necessarily what she said but she was just there for me. During the night she never left the room, she held my hand and gave me hugs, it meant so much and I will never ever forget her.

Regards,
    Dianne