Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Desperately need help with 5 year old behaviour

I know it might be somthing you don't want to hear, but I would be taking her to a GP for a referral. There are many things this could be - she might be just playing games, enticing you into a power struggle. Is she bright? - I'm guessing so.

Additives in her diet may be contributing - a good book to get is "Additive Alert" - this is beneficial even if not causing her tantrums.

Like the other girls have suggested - it could be more. I'm a teacher and have come across a lot of defiant kids, that have underlying problems. Once diagnosed and treated accordingly (not just talking drugs, more about appropriate behaviour modification) they respond quickly and everybody is happier. The things that come to my mind are Autism (ASD) and, ADD and ADHD as well as Emotional Disturbance/Conduct Disorder. I know they sound terrible, but - the compulsive thing gives a hint. Lots of these kids are really bright and their way of dealing with sensory overload is to react in a way we see as extreme. I'm not saying that is what it is, but it is worth ruling out if it is causing you both to be unhappy.

As you say that you are separated, the behavour may be stemming from this as well. Even if you have been separated for a while. Sometimes kids that seem to deal with it well at the time, implode down the track. (or in her case explode!)

It could also be her way of communicating to you that there is something else going on in her life that she doesn't know how to tell you about.