Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Thread: Babies Born October - December 2005 #3

Tracey - I've done first aid. But a lot of it is common sense. If you bleed on the outside of the body you find something to apply pressure to the wound, where in the mouth it's a different thing. Something cold usually does the trick. I gave Benjamin a cold wet facewasher to suck on which helped clot it a little and stopped most of the bleeding. The little tike just wanted a booby feed after the bleeding had slowed, probably to wash the blood taste out of his mouth. Benjamin has taken to sucking on his wet wipes, so I thought the wet facewasher was the next best thing. Trust me, I panicked for a second when I heard his teeth hit the head board. But, I've been an assistant nurse before and I'm not afraid of the sight of blood. I just prefer to get things under control quickly to avoid panic. You basically check out the wound, if things look ok, you get the first aid kit out and clean it up, or if it looks nasty, 000 is always good to have on speed dial, especially if you are too far away to drive to the hospital. Other than that you try to manage the flow with anything on hand until help arrives. The key is to take a few deep breaths and try not to panic. Which is always easier said then done.

Melissa

Hi all

Yes I know Kristie, its so hard trying to get dinner ready when they want cuddles...Im trying not to feel bad but its hard. If he wasnt so clingy id be fine. Well im hopeing swimming will be fine but he is starting to sook again...sheeeesh son give mummy a break...lol....

Awwww Melissa, The sight of blood coming out of my kids make me cry...I panic all the time. I see blood and think the worst...hmmmm have I missed some thing,, who has been bleeding...hope its not any kids....I Must have missed whats going on. Maybe I should do a first aid course to. Do you think that would help me abit from freaking out so much????