Page 6 of 8 FirstFirst ... 45678 LastLast

Thread: Breastfeeding after 12 months

Lindah amybe start temping & Opking, well OPK after you have a cycle kinda...? See after a few weeks or so if/when your actually ovulating (as you can whilst still BFeeding)..
    Maybe that can help you pinpoint o & then getting that BFP...

Indah now only feeds once vefore bed & only if she wants me in the morning... Usually she does but if she see's her cup she wants that!

Yeah, I guess I could do that. I have never tried OPK before. Is it just like a HPT & tells you when you O?

bree is 20 months and going strong
    so cute, she used to ask for 'dook' (drink) - now she runs up and says ' other side b o o b y ' LOL.
    i stopped feeding jade at 13 months - mostly due to it being 'advertised' in all the parenting mags/info the general public gets that if you get to 1 year, good on you and you've done your job kinda thing i also followed all the solids feeding advice for weaning at 1 year)...

Joh - it's funny because I always thought that 12 months was just the time that you wean. Now I'm here I can't understand why it is so 'normal' to wean at 12 months. There is just no need?

yeah.
    researching has educated me, the benefits to b'feeding just dont stop at 12 months!
    it just seems that everyone wants to advocate to parents that you should have a life outside of being a parent, or making parenting as easy as possible for yourself, so stopping b'feeding is one of the ways you can not be 'tied down' to an older baby - which is all absolute bollocks

Yep - even the chicken pox immunisation. It has been going around lately, & I was a bit worried, but my MCHN said not to worry too much because we are bf. & that got me thinking - why don't they encourage you more to keep feeding when there are such important benifits!!

Not to mention that for us it is a sure fire way to settle Em no matter what.