Page 7 of 11 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast

Thread: The Cost involved with IVF

barney Guest

hi zoe.im no expert but im sure you can only have icsi through ivf as they take out you eggs and inject a single sperm into the egg to try to help fertalize better.
    an IUI is an insemination of sperm into the women and you dont need ivf for that.hope that helps a little

zoe72 Guest

Thanks Smithy, I'll check that out

slyder Guest

Hi Zoe,

You have to do a normal IVF cycle in order to do ICSI. The only difference with ICSI is they inject a single sperm into each egg, as opposed to straight IVF which just introduces a number of best available sperm into the immediate vicinity of each egg.

This is the current general chatter IVF/ICSI thread which may be of use to you.

zoe72 Guest

Hi all
    I just noticed melbourne IVF are doing astudy on IVF/IUI which some of you may be eligable for. [no links: please read guidelines]

On another note Hubby has been sterislised and we want to have more children. we are weighing up whether to go through reversal or IVF. Trouble is it will cost us close to 10,000 dollars on IVF becasue I carry a genetic disorder.

However we are willing to take the chance, theres still a good chance nothing will be passed on should we try natural conception. I'm in Vic does anyone know what options might be available to us?

Thanks

Does anyone have a recent price list for Concept in Perth?

Hi there,

Can anyone recommend one private health fund over another for covering IVF costs? We are with NIB but I hv t change son (no retail shop near my new job) and would love recommendations! We have HCF, MBF and Medibak Private nearby.
    Cheers

lily, maybe go in to each one and ask them what the offer for IVF, including waiting periods. Our fund use to have a 2 year wait on IVF, but have recently changed it (so they tell me)

Nic
    Last edited by nic; November 1st, 2007 at 12:23 PM.