Thread: Folding up prams

Default Folding up prams

Just started the pram hunt & realising it is really hard!!!! DH seems to be quite interested in finding something you can fold/ unfold with only one hand (eg: the Graco Quattro Tour Deluxe). But this pram is sooo heavy I definitely wouldn't be able to get it out of the car with one hand, so what is the benefit of being able to unfold it with one hand? Sorry but I am completely new at this baby thing- is it normal practice for you to leave the bub in the car whilst getting the pram out? What about folding/ unfolding the pram when you go on public transport (not that I would imagine doing this too much).

Any help appreciated : )

We don't have to fold/unfold often as I walk everywhere, but that's the great thing about living in a smaller town. But yeah I would leave bubs in the car, get the pram out & yourself organised etc otherwise it's a little too hard. I don't really see much benefit in the one hand thing....though having said that I can lift mine open with one hand & one foot on the wheel (I have the Valco runabout), but then I need two hand to ensure it's locked into place - if that makes sense.
    In regards to public transport, not that I use it often...but that's what we bought our cheap stroller for, it folds smaller but still not that easy to do so with one hand. I wouldn't choose a heavy pram just for that reason, if you can fold it with one hand but then can't even lift it onto the bus with bubs & a bag of shopping then doesn't seem worth it to me.

OMG, the first time we took Yasin out in the car with the pram we forgot how to fold it. I was going nuts trying to figure it out, swearing like a crazy lady and told DH to just leave it in the carpark and I would buy a new one. i felt like a bit of a doofus when he finally found the magic button.