Page 4 of 9 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: LTTTC & Assisted Conception ~ February 2006 #2

ozziemum Guest

hello everyone, i am very new at all this. my friend may have mentioned that i might have a look at this site and that you may be able to help with some questions along my journey.

I am currently trying to concieve baby number 1. my husband and i have not had much luck in the past couple of years trying.

we have attempted ivf on one occation and found this to be a failure.

we have been asked if we would like to give it another go now that we have a little more money behind us but this time using the microinjection technique. I am not to sure as to exactly what the difference will make apart from them directly injecting my husbands sperm into my eggs and hopefully have a few more fertilize. I really am not to sure if this will make any difference in the success rate of being able to hold a pregancy,

has anyone under gone this process and what has there out come been.

I am also a little worried that if we do go down this avenue that our child will have some chance of abnormality, but i guess that is a very small price to pay, when all you want is to have a child of your own right.

I am sorry for the long winded story.

again thank you.

Tina

Hey there Tina,

I am so glad that you found the site ok.

I am sure that the girls in here will be able to help you in anyway they possibly can. And I am sure they will make you feel as welcome as I am.

Hope all goes well in anyway you turn.

love heaps.

Melb - where my coolness isn't seen as wierdness

Hi Tina,

Welcome to BB. I know the girls in here will be a great support to you!

ICSI (or microinjection) is quite safe. There seems to be some medical evidence that suggests that there is a very slightly higher rate of abnormalities in IVF children, but not necessarily ICSI children.