Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread: need your opinion??

I hear what the girls are saying and I would be offended if I had to pay my own meal without reason
    SO ...
    why not put a note in your invite that says that you don't want a wedding gift and that the money that you save by letting the guests pay for their own food would be used to "buy" you a bubba ???
    Print something like: Instead of buy us a gift, give us the gift of live by paying for your own meal ($$ per person) and let us pay for a little brother/sister for Chloe. (Ok, I am not good at this sort of stuff, but I am sure someone can be MUCH more creative )
    I don't know if it's public knowledge that you are on ivf treatment, but if I get an invite that says that I must pay for my meal INSTEAD of buying a gift, I will be jumping up and down, because I don't have to frett over what to get the couple. And I would be glad to help a couple to have another buba.
    Don't know if that makes sence.
    Otherwise, make your wedding SMALLER!! Less guest = less money. And I like the idea of paying for the food and having an open bar. That is something you see more and more, you can just have some free juice on the table and a bottle of bubbly and VOLA

:hugs:

OMG - did not notice that it sounds like a fundraising then I'm sorry if that was insensitive, it just popped in my head and I did not reread my post before hitting the button!!!

Last edited by Nadine216; January 31st, 2008 at 08:57 PM. Reason: REREAD

I would be much more inclined to go for the idea of paying for the meals & making them pay for their own drinks.
    Prices for alcohol are pretty standard at all places, so they can choose how much or how little they want to spend...

I understand you're choosing to spend the $$$ on IVF rather than a wedding - We were exactly the same, have been together for 7 yrs, done 4 full IVF cycles but have only gotten married 4 weeks ago - Because the IVF for us always was more important.