Thread: Baby with Flat / indented back of head

Default Baby with Flat / indented back of head

Hi Girls,

this is my first time posting !. I have been on the net trying to find out if anyone has written anything on children that not only have a flat head ( which Drs say is from sleeping on their back), but also a obvious indent at the back of the head. I have noticed that her she tends to favour leaning to her right side which is also the flat side of her head.

I have moved her cot ...turn her on her side and go in there every hour until I go to bed at night when I move her back onto her back.

We have been to Neurosurgeon and he is keeping an eye on it. I am just trying to see if anyone else has experianced this and what they have done.

My princess is only 4 months old so hopefully it will sort itself out . I am more worried about the indent!. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
    Cass

Hi Cass! Welcome to Belly Belly. I can't answer your question, just wanted to welcome you

I have heard before tho that babies can get flat spots on their heads from lying in one position, and if you alternate which way their head is every few nights it helps (helps with the hair rubbing off too apparently).

I'm sure someone here will have an answer for you. Hope everything else is well with you and your bub

Hi Cass

You are doing all the right things for the flat spot.
    Babies heads are quite soft, the indent cauld have been caused at birth. Usually this sort of problem resolves is self in time and I expect that is what your Neurosurgeon is expecting.

Pietta Guest

Oh Cass my DS had the most flatest head i had ever seen when he was little- now he has a lovely slightly indented head that is round- almost.

It does go with age.

I hope this helps

Melody Guest

Hi Cass,