Thread: Where do you get raspberry leaf tea or extract?

Question Where do you get raspberry leaf tea or extract?

I've finally looked into the benefits of raspberry leaf and have decided I want some. I will take tablets or tea, it doesn't matter. Can I get it from Coles or Woolworths? I'm new to Australia so I don't know where to get these things.

Percy Guest

I got mine from a health food shop - try there.

I've also seen it in a chemist too, in the vitamin section. Not sure about the superamrkets.

Sometimes Coles & Woolies have it although I haven't seen it lately in our local ones but all health food shops would stock it.

I picked up some from Priceline the other week when in Melbourne. I got the Blackmores brand, 84 tablet bottle. It says you're meant to take 6 a day which means I only have a 2 week supply so I was thinking of taking only 2 or 3 a day and buying some tea bags as well from the local health food shop.

I had to get mine from the local homeopath because I couldn't find it in the supermarkets (and I asked, they just don't stock it).

melr030780 Guest

At how many weeks, do we start taking these tablets..

Out of interest..

Cheers
    Mel

The advice seems a little mixed. SOme sources say to avoid it like the plague in early pregnancy and others say to take it all through the TTC and early pregnany stages. The bulk of the infor I can find and the most medically sound advice I've found is that you should take it from around 32-36 weeks onwards and whilst breastfeeding is becoming established as it's also meant to promote breast milk production and flow.

I'm going to start taking it around 34 weeks.

hope that helps.

Dosn't it promote labour?

Cass I believe it actually helps tone the uterus so that you have more efficient contractions, it doesn't actually cause labour to start. Hopefully someone will correct me if i'm wrong. I think I better go and get myself some though.

I think it tones uterine muscles and encourages breastmilk production.