Thread: 3/5 engaged??

Question 3/5 engaged??

Hey ladies, im 37 weeks +3 days and i had midwife on monday normal check as usual and then she told me i was 3/5 engaged when up till now my babys always been free from brim. Is engaged a sign of it coming soon? As u can tell im new to all this and me and my partner are very curious to weather being engaged is anything but her being in the pelvis and her way of saying im on my way... just i been getting some very painfull pains down below and the pressure is un beliveable at times not had any signs like a show or anything but i been having diarrea,needing loo all the time,nausea,back pain,more discharge than normal and pressure and tightening across abdomen so is all this lil signs of it being soon i know i only have 2 and bit weeks left but i feel in myself that im not going to go to my due date... hope any of can help me?! xXx

Hi 1st time mummy 2 be,
    Being engaged isn't normally a sign of going into labour anytime soon. Some mothers can be fully engaged 0/5, for weeks until labour begins and some can go into labour being only 5/5. So each case is very different.
    However, along with the others signs you have mentioned, nausea, back pain, more discharge than normal, it could be a sign that labour is not too far away. The tightening across the stomach would be Braxton Hicks, which is another good sign along with the other ones, especially if it is accompanied by some minor dull pain/ache.
    So fingers crossed for you it might not be too long until your holding your beautiful little girl. But like I said each case is very very different, but fingers crossed for you.

Hi 1st time mummy 2 be
    You are showing all the signs of going into labour in the very near future, I hope you have got your bags packed.

Babushka Doll Guest

My Bub has been head down since 25 weeks and 0/5 engaged since 36 weeks. Ive been getting all the same symtoms as you, so I think our bodies are doing what they should be at this stage.